2010 New York GLAAD Media Awards

Spread the love

Cynthia Nixon and Joy Behar Honored at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York
March 13, 2010 by Sara Werner, GLAAD’s Public Relations & Communications Intern

A big thank you to all who attended the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York! We’ll have some great videos and a full recap in the coming days, but for now please enjoy the event photos below and a brief account of the show and a list of winners from tonight’s event.

The night started with a silent auction conducted by Bryan Batt and Lorna Kelly, followed by the Youth Pride Chorus opening the ceremony with a beautiful performance. The event was hosted by Alan Cumming and had special appearances by Joy Behar and Cynthia Nixon, who were each honored for their efforts in advocating for equality and increasing the visibility of the LGBT community. The ceremony concluded dynamically with a performance from the Tony Award-winning cast of Hair, which received a Special Recognition award.

GLAAD Media Award recipients in 24 of this year’s 32 media categories were announced tonight in New York. Additional awards will be presented at the GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles on April 17th and in San Francisco on June 5th.

Joy Behar received the Excellence in Media Award at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York
Following is a complete list of GLAAD Media Awards presented on stage, and the individuals that accepted the awards:

• Excellence in Media Award: Joy Behar (Presented by Meredith Vieira)
• Vito Russo Award: Cynthia Nixon (Presented by Michael Patrick King)
• Outstanding Drama Series: Brothers and Sisters (ABC) [Accepted by: show writer, Geoffrey Nauffts]
• Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series: Prayers for Bobby (Lifetime) [Accepted by: Sigourney Weaver and producers Daniel Sladek and Damian Ganczewski]
• Outstanding TV Journalism Segment: “Why Will Won’t Pledge Allegiance” American Morning (CNN) [Accepted by: Will Phillips and American Morning producer Beth Marengo]
• Outstanding Digital Journalism Article: TIE: “’We Love You, This Won’t Change a Thing’” by John Buccigross (ESPN.com) [Accepted by: John Buccigross and Patrick Burke, brother of Brendan Burke] and “Why Can’t You Just Butch Up? Gay Men, Effeminacy, and Our War with Ourselves” by Brent Hartinger (AfterElton.com) [Accepted by: Brenth Hartinger]
• Special Recognition: Hair [Accepted by: Gavin Creel]
The following is a list of all other award recipients announced at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York:
• Outstanding Film-Limited Release: Little Ashes (Regent Releasing)
• Outstanding Individual Episode: “Pawnee Zoo” Parks and Recreation (NBC)
• Outstanding Daily Drama: One Life to Live (ABC)
• Outstanding Talk Show Episode: “Ellen DeGeneres and Her Wife, Portia de Rossi” The Oprah Winfrey Show (syndicated)
• Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine: “Uganda Be Kidding Me” (series) The Rachel Maddow Show (MSNBC)
• Outstanding Newspaper Article: “Kept From a Dying Partner’s Bedside” by Tara Parker-Pope (The New York Times)
• Outstanding Newspaper Columnist: Frank Rich (The New York Times)
• Outstanding Newspaper Overall Coverage: The New York Times
• Outstanding Magazine Article: “Coming Out in Middle School” by Benoit Denizet-Lewis (The New York Times Magazine)
• Outstanding Magazine Overall Coverage: The Advocate
• Outstanding Comic Book: Detective Comics by Greg Rucka (DC Comics)
• Outstanding New York Theater: Broadway & Off-Broadway: A Boy and His Soul by Colman Domingo
• Outstanding New York Theater: Off-Off Broadway: She Likes Girls by Chisa Hutchinson
Spanish-Language award recipients:
• Outstanding Novela: Más Sabe el Diablo (Telemundo)
• Outstanding Daytime Talk Show Episode: “Adopción gay: un tema muy controversial” Paparazzi TV Sensacional (MegaTV)
• Outstanding Talk Show Interview: “Realidades de ser gay en la tercera edad” El Show de Cristina (Univision)
• Outstanding TV Journalism – Newsmagazine: TIE: “En el cuerpo equivocado” Primer Impacto (Univision) & “Damas gracias: Entrevista con Eva Leivas-Andino” Al Rojo Vivo (Telemundo)
• Outstanding Newspaper Article: “Mas familias de dos papás o dos mamas” by Pilar Marrero (La Opinión)
• Outstanding Magazine Article: “Del odio a la justicia” by Lena Hansen (People en Español)
• Outstanding Digital Journalism Article: “Saliendo del clóset: Cómo enfrentarlo en familia” by Fernanda Martínez (Univision.com)

Drew Barrymore and Wanda Sykes will be honored at the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards in Los Angeles

The GLAAD Media Awards continue in Los Angeles on April 17th at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza where GLAAD will honor Golden Globe-winning actress, director and producer, Drew Barrymore, by presenting her with the Vanguard Award; and Emmy Award-winning actress, comedian, writer and producer, Wanda Sykes will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award. The event will be hosted by Candis Cayne and Wilson Cruz; special guests include, Benjamin Bratt, Bryan Batt, the cast of Glee, Eric Dane, Elizabeth Keener, Jason Lewis, Countess LuAnn de Lesseps, Rob Halford and Tom Ford.

The final ceremony takes place in San Francisco on June 5th at the Westin St. Francis honoring Levi Strauss President, Robert Hanson, who will receive the Local Hero Award. The event will be hosted by Bruce Vilanch and stay posted for the announcement of further special guests.

To purchase your ticket to one of the 21st Annual GLAAD Media Awards ceremonies, please visit http://www.glaad.org/mediaawards/21/tickets. Don’t miss out on these events, purchase your tickets today!

Click here for a complete list of this year’s nominees and join us as we commend them for their excellence in fair, accurate and inclusive media representations of the LGBT community.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]