Does Mister V Ever Relax? 2005 Nightlife Awards 1/31

Spread the love

2005 Nightlife Awards 1/31 to Feature
Foster, Morton, Vilanch and More
by BWW News Desk

Joy Behar, Bruce Vilanch, Sutton Foster, Ute Lemper, Euan Morton, Maureen McGovern, Karen Akers and Kate Clinton to perform in support of NY Nightlife award winners.

Producer Scott Siegel is proud to announce the 2005 NIGHTLIFE AWARDS. The Nightlife Awards take place on Monday, January 31, 2005 at 7:00 PM at The Town Hall (123 West 43rd Street, between 6th & 7th Avenues). Tickets are $25, $50, and $75. (Tickets to the after party are an additional $50). Show tickets may be purchased via Ticketmaster at 212-307-4100 or online at For mail order tickets and tickets to the after-party, contact or call 212-365-4345. The Town Hall box office opens in January.

Critics called last year’s Nightlife Awards show “An avalanche of entertainment!” (William Wolf, Wolf Entertainment Guide) and “An epic night of grand entertainment” (Andy Propst, American Theatre Web). This year’s show promises to be even grander with such stars as Joy Behar, Bruce Vilanch, Sutton Foster, Ute Lemper, Karen Akers, Euan Morton, Maureen McGovern, Allan Harris, Julie Halston, Jim Caruso, Billy Stritch, and Kate Clinton and many others performing in support of New York City’s nightlife.

More than twenty critics and experts vote on the best performances of the year in New York City’s cabaret, comedy, and jazz clubs [see attached list of judges]. The winners, rather than make acceptance speeches, will perform to show why they were chosen.

The Nightlife Awards is the only broad-based critics award show honoring our great city’s nightlife, and it’s the only award show in the world that is PURE ENTERTAINMENT! There will be more than twenty live cabaret, comedy and jazz performances on the stage of Town Hall, performed by the most talented club performers in New York (and, therefore, the world)!

The 2005 Nightlife Awards is conceived and produced by Author/Critic Scott Siegel, who also created Town Hall’s popular and critically acclaimed Broadway by the Year series (going into its fifth season), and the smash hit Broadway Unplugged concert in September.

Last year’s Nightlife Awards concert featured performances by (among others), Alan King, Betty Buckley, Annie Ross, Margaret Whiting, Douglas Sills, Christine Andreas, Lea DeLaria, Jackie Hoffman, Raul Esparza, Jim Caruso, Paula West, Allan Harris, Demetri Martin, Judy Gold, and many more. Also appearing were film director Robert Altman, and actors F. Murray Abraham, Sandy Duncan, Tammy Grimes, and Tovah Feldshuh. The 2005 edition promises to be at least as star-studded.

The 2005 Nightlife Awards is sponsored, in part, by ASCAP,, Edythe Kenner, Peter & Barbara Leavy, Thoroughbred Records, and Trattoria Dopo Teatro.


KIRSTEN AMES — Producer, Festival Talent, U.S. Comedy Arts Festival MICHAEL ANTHONY — WHPC – 90.3 FM, Jazz Journalist JANE BORDEN — Time Out NY ANGELA BOWERS -HBO ADAM FELDMAN, Time Out NY DAVID FINKLE, Village Voice WILL FRIEDWALD — Village Voice STEVE FUTTERMAN – The New Yorker AMELIE GILLETTE — The Onion IRA GITTLER — Jazz Times and Downbeat CELIA IPLOTIS – Eye on the Arts PETER LEAVY — Cabaret Scenes BRIAN SCOTT LIPTON — WARD MOREHOUSE III — AM NY DAVID PEROZZI – ABC-TV REX REED, The New York Observer ROY SANDER — formerly Back Stage and CitySearch BARBARA SIEGEL — and Siegel Entertainment Syndicate SCOTT SIEGEL — and Siegel Entertainment Syndicate NAOMI STEINBERG — Comedy Central JONATHAN WARMAN – HX Magazine K.LEANDER WILLIAMS — Time Out NY