Vilanch Announces Outfest Award Winners!

Spread the love

Outfest Award Winners Announced
July 17, 2006
By Lauren Horwitch

Outfest, L.A.’s largest gay and lesbian film festival, has announced the winners of its 12th annual Film Competition Awards.

15 winners where announced at an awards ceremony July 16 at the John Anson Amphitheatre hosted by Bruce Vilanch. Michael Carbonaro took home OUTstanding Actor in a Feature Film for his performance in Another Gay Movie, Diane Gaidry won the actress award for Loving Annabelle, and Ned Farr took home OUTstanding American Narrative Feature and a $2,500 cash prize for his film The Gymnast.

The 24th annual Outfest 2006 featured 209 films and videos from 28 countries, exhibited in nine venues over 12 days. The festival also included five galas, 70 feature film programs, 15 short film programs, six panels, and five special events.

All Outfest award winners are as follows:

Grand Jury Awards:

OUTstanding American Narrative Feature – The Gymnast

Director: Ned Farr

OUTstanding International Narrative Feature – Whole New Thing

Director: Amnon Buchbind

OUTstanding Documentary Feature – Small Town Gay Bar

Director: Malcolm Ingram

OUTstanding Screenwriting – Q. Allen Brocka and Phillip Pierce for Boy Culture

OUTstanding Actor in a Feature Film – Michael Carbonaro for Another Gay Movie

OUTstanding Actress in a Feature Film – Diane Gaidry for Loving Annabelle

Audience Awards:

HBO OUTstanding First Narrative Feature – The Gymnast

Director: Ned Farr

OUTstanding Narrative Feature – A tie

Loving Annabelle directed by Katherine Brooks

A Love to Hide directed by Christian Faure

OUTstanding Documentary Feature – Camp Out

Directors: Kirk Marcolina and Larry Grimaldi

OUTstanding Narrative Short Film – Available Men

Director: David Dean Bottrell

OUTstanding Documentary Short Film – My Crazy Life

Director: Carlos Arguello, Enzo Ybarra and APLA’s MPowerment & Studio

OUTstanding Soundtrack – Pick Up the Mic

Director: Alex Hinton

Special Programming Awards:

Freedom Award – Dan Hunt, Janet Boss and Reed Williams, Directors for Cruel and Unusual

OUTstanding Emerging Talent – Ash Christian, Director for Fat Girls

OUTstanding Artistic Achievement – Ho Tam, Director for Book of James